Some people think that cities are the best places to live. Others prefer to live in a rural area. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is widely believed that most people prefer living in urban cities when compared to rural towns. This is particularly evident when comparing the population size of both these areas. This essay will consider both sides of the argument to reach an effective conclusion. Firstly, a strong argument as to why families choose cities over rural communities could be due to the increased availability of jobs, better pay, newer infrastructures as well as better educational opportunities. In stark contrast, rural households are often lacking these key areas. Additionally, there are increasing reports of rural parents moving to urban areas to be closer to their children and grandparents. Conversely, rural families have a much stronger communal bonding especially due to the reduced number of residents. Additional benefits like cleaner air, and cheaper housing should also be considered. All of which could result in reduced stress as well as a better work-life balance. Furthermore, there is strong evidence that rural households have a higher happiness index when compared to their urban counterpart. To sum up, there are benefits and disadvantages to living in both cities and towns. I am of the opinion that the decision-making process will differ from family to family depending on their priorities and socioeconomic status.