Some people think that best way to reduce crime is to sentence long term prison.However,others think that there are alternative way to reduce crime describe both view points discuss your opinion.

As people can feel more satisfied living in a city with lower rate of the crime, they come up with different ways to reduce it. In my view, severe punishments are possible to avoid people to challenge the law. Some people believe that sentencing long term prison is the best method to decrease crime, since people may be afraid of staying in the prison for a long time and choose to behave well. If they are caught by policemen and need to stay in prison for several decades, they may not stand being seperated with their family for such a long period, so they might stop their crime when they tend to. On the other hand, opponents have other idea that there are better way to reduce crime, which means that long term prison is not effective enough for crimals to stop their bad actions. Even though people know they may be in the prinson for decades, they are likely to still the crime because of the large profit they may gain. For example, they might be too confident to plan to rob a lot of money and run away instantly, so they are not afraid of the long term prison. These opponents may think good education may be a better way to reduce crime. People can learn some useful skills and know what is right way to live in the society. In my view, harsh punishments can be effective to control crime. It is important to make criminals be scared of the punishment, so that they may tend to change their mind. When they think the benefits they may acquire are not worthy for them to take a risk, they may stop the dangerous action. For example, the rate of Singapore's crime is low due to their severe punishments in the law. In conclusion, harsh punishments like long term prison might reduce crime effectively. Criminals need to know what they need to pay for their behaviour.