Some people think governments should spend money on faster means of public transport. However, others think money should be spent on other priorities (e.g. cost, environment). Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The government’s investment in the development of the transportation sector remains a subject of controversy in several regions, particularly the Third World nations. While some believe that financial subsidies should be provided to improve the transportation domain, others argue that there are more pressing issues that require immediate action. Nevertheless, I firmly assert that in the zeal to address this problem, there is a risk of inadvertently neglecting a spectrum of other formidable challenges, and so, it is not recommended to focus on the development of infrastructure solely. On the one hand, proponents of commute systems point to the evidence of environmental hazards that stem from automobiles. To elaborate on this idea, since automobile ownership is on the rise due to overpopulation, emission of gases and carbon footprint are taking a toll on the health of people proportionally. Subsequently, such alarming situations prompt the need for public transport, and encourage councils to expend more in establishing such infrastructure that supports the notion of conserving the environment. For example, several developed nations have introduced massive general transport schemes that have diluted environmental concerns as well as traffic concerns of the population. In other words, not only do such schemes allow people to get to their destinations in time, but also ensure the atmosphere remains pollutant-free. Hence, it is clear that the public commute system does play a pivotal role in promoting a healthier environment. On the other hand, detractors claim that there is a multitude of other significant issues, such as medical and educational facilities, that require fixation first. To substantiate, not only do fostered health and institutional facilities promote well-being of the individuals but also guarantee the cultivation of individuality, which is essentially the basic element in the fabric of society. For instance, in order to strengthen the communities, several nations have rendered education and healthcare units free of cost so that every element of society can easily access them. Thus, literacy and health are the assets of every human being, and, thereby governments should make them affordable and accessible to everyone. In conclusion, admittedly, the importance of public transport is tremendous, however, there are other concerns that should be prioritized first and foremost. Since everybody deserves to live a healthy and wealthy life, it appears that more proportion of money should be spent on basic facilities.