Some countries are struggling with increasing crime rates. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some countries are struggling with increasing crime rates. Many people think having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? The increasing number of criminal acts is a crucial issue in some countries. While some people believe that the only way to reduce crime is to have more police on the streets, I disagree with this statement because there are many ways to reduce criminal cases more than just having more police, which could burden government budgets. On the one hand, having more police on the streets may help people feel safe. However, to decrease the crime rate, this approach would not be the best way because the number of police does not reflect the quality of services, and having more government authorities means that the budget spending for their wages has to increase. For example, in Thailand, even in the city's heart, surrounded by many police stations, criminals can commit crimes easily. On the other hand, there are various ways to decrease the criminal rate, including having strict laws and regulations and educating individuals in school curriculums. Harsh sentencing may deter offenders from committing crimes. To illustrate, in Singapore, heavy punishments are given to people who have a gun in public spaces, so we rarely hear about unlawful activities with firearms in this country. Moreover, a lack of education is a contributing factor to criminal behaviours; hence, good educational programs in schools may help individuals understand moral values, resulting in a reduction in the crime rate. To sum up, I believe that to reduce criminal activities, the government should have strict laws and implement moral values in the educational system rather than increasing the number of police.