Some people think that the government should spend money on supporting cultural activities such as music, theater or art. Others think this is a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been a rising debate on whether the government should offer more funding for preserving cultural practices. While it is understandable that some regard this movement as a waste, I believe that governmental expenses shall be provided for supporting culture and I will put these two opposing views under discussion in the following essay. On the one hand, spending monetary resources on cultural activities may arguably be wasteful. There are too many existing predicaments around the globe to solve, ranging from environmental to societal ones. These can result in devastating consequences for humanity and there is simply no point expending on cultural values instead of addressing these issues first. Furthermore, many argue that traditional music or art can prevail without any help from the government. Supporting this notion, the painting of Mona Lisa by Da Vinci or compositions of Beethoven can be taken as a paradigm of masterpieces that have triumphed over time and still be relevant in the contemporary era. On the other hand, it is indisputable that traditional values must be sustained with governmental expenditures. While some are still considered prevalent, many less popular practices are on the line due to the ever-changing norm of today’s society. Despite their inferior popularity, they still play a crucial role in communities who treasure these customs. For instance, water puppetry, a theatrical show performed by a sole minor Vietnamese ethnicity, is bound to sink into oblivion as for the lack of heir. More resources, therefore, should be utilized to propagandize such traditions for the ultimate goal of preventing them from being obsolete. In conclusion, albeit confronted by numerous conundrums, the government must devote more financial aid in preserving cultural activities as some are pivotal for the well-being of our society as a whole.