Some people think that offenders should be put in prison. Others, however, believe that providing offenders with education and training is more effective than putting them in prison. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Undoubtedly, with the rapid social development, more and more cases of crime may happen, also causing problems in life safety. Whereas some people look upon as a viable means to deal with this issue, others refer to providing offenders with education and training as a more effective way. As for my perspective, I am in favor of the latter, and the reasons will be elaborated on thoroughly as follows. An array of causes may lead to why putting criminals in prison seems to be an effective way of punishment. To begin with, because lawbreakers are all locked down in prison, our society will be safer, so those illegal and violent treatments are away from our lives. That is, criminals have been isolated away from people’s lives which can prevent harassment and detrimental effects on citizens, everyone can live safely without any fear. On the other hand, as far as I am concerned, providing offenders with education and training brings more benefits to individuals and society. Firstly, offenders make mistakes because they do not have legal knowledge to guide them, but moral and legal education could help them get back on the right path. In other words, moral and legal education will help criminals be aware of the reason why they should stop their behavior and also prevent more crimes in the future. Secondly, most of the reasons for offenders committing crimes are based on survival, providing education for offenders can help them to learn life skills to make their own living. Take Taiwan as an example. Some authorities teach offenders new skills like producing soy sauce, sweets, etc, which helps criminals gain their new skills and no need to worry about their financial issues in the future, this will also reduce their thoughts of breaking the law again in future. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, I am firmly convinced that providing offenders with education and training is a more effective way to reduce the crime rate in our society by moral and legal education and skill training.