Some people think that more genetically modified food should be produced to cope with the growing population. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, with the global growing population, humans are facing the crisis of food shortage. Whereas some people look upon genetically modified food as the solution to dealing with the growing population, others do not. As for my perspective, I am in favor of the former, and the reasons will be elaborated on thoroughly as follows. Genetically modified food has been adjusted by scientists to survive in harsh environments, compared to native food, they harvest more to supply more people in need. That is, natural food needs more effort during the growing since the threats are more, so genetically modified food can generate more harvest. According to a study conducted by National Taiwan University, the harvest of genetically modified food was 10% higher than original food in 2019, and the amount reached 13% in 2021, showing genetically modified food have more harvest and its adaptability for harsh environments to keep progressing such as surviving in extreme weather and also immune to pests. Because genetically modified food is the result of the laboratory, scientists can create more nutrition in it, so more people can be fed without consuming more. In other words, genetically modified food has more nutrition, so that people do not need to consume more than before, which can leave more left for other populations to use. Take super tomatoes as an example. In general, adults need to take in 100g tomatoes per day to reach the daily required amount of Vitamin C to stay healthy; after the invention of super tomatoes, adults only need to consume 50g per day because they have more nutrition compared to the native one thanks to genetically modified technology. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, more genetically modified food should be produced to cope with the growing population due to more harvest and nutrition.