Forests are the lungs of the Earth. Destruction of the world's forests amount to death of the world, we currently know. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Yes, I do believe that without forests all the living species will go extinct. There are numerous important roles played by forests which include but are not limited to, oxygen, water cycle regulation, biodiversity, carbon sequestration, homeland for indigenous communities and so on. In my essay below you will find how all these factors are crucial in order to maintain balance of the world. The importance that forests hold is above and beyond, lack of forests will lead to lack of oxygen and it is one element every living creature survives on. Without oxygen there literally wont be any species to walk on this planet. In addition to this, forests absorb carbon dioxide which is a major greenhouse gas contributing to climate change. Forests play a significant role in mitigating climate change by absorbing carbon dioxide. If there were no forests there will be a decrease in Earth's ability to absorb CO2, hence, more extreme weather patterns will be seen. Furthermore, forests are home to numerous species of the wild which will lose their home if forests are destroyed. Moreover, forests play crucial role in regulating the water cycle by influencing rainfall patterns and maintaining watershed health. Lastly, there are many indigenous communities whose culture, livelihood and traditions are connected to forests. Destroying them will disrupt their way of life. In conclusion, destruction of forest will amount to death of the world. No species can survive without forests and Earth will become same as every other planet, lifeless.