Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leiure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays shopping is considered one of the most engaging activities for youngsters to spend their spare time. In my opinion, there are several factors that directly affect young people's shopping behaviours and preferences which result in a negative development. Firstly, people tend to spend a significant proportion of their leisure time purchasing various goods and services that align with their preferences. This growing trend is prevalent, especially among younger adults who enjoy sauntering in different malls. The main cause of this tendency is people's constant exposure to advertisements that promote numerous products and unconsciously compel them to make impulsive purchases. For example, companies employ various social media platforms, such as Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube, to make people familiarize with their products. Being aware of this common practice, people are exposed to those promotions on a daily basis and consider buying those goods even if they do not actually need them. Therefore, they prefer to use their free time by looking for those products. Secondly, making constant purchases might lead consumers to squander all their money on the products they can live without. This activity actively encourages customers to splurge on luxury items or expensive clothing without taking the consequences of those purchases into account. As a result, people can actually run out of money and might encounter serious financial challenges. Furthermore, this tendency might increase the prevalence of materialism among people and motivate them to possess more in order to feel happier and more valuable. For instance,there are certain people who believe in the therapeutic effects of shopping, which is the instant happiness it provides that only last temporarily. Hence, persuading people to believe in that theory is the calculated strategy implemented by certain businesses which results in a lack of happiness and satisfaction levels among people. To conclude, I believe spending time in shopping centres has detrimental influences on people and stimulate them to splash out their money without thinking and be happy with material items which is a negative development that many people struggle with.