Friendships that take place online are not as meaningful as those where people meet each other face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, when technology is ever-advancing, bonds between human beings can be made through online means, thus creating an argumentative notion that online friendships are not as meaningful as those made through face to face contact. From my point of view, I completely agree with this opinion since only direct interactions can enhance one’s relationships. First and foremost, it is undeniable that technology has made making new bonds much easier as it has tremendous convenience. Through text messages, posts including pictures, thoughts written out and videos, to be specific, one can interact with other users of the internet, therefore making novel connections. Though it is indeed much of convenience, friendships made this way tend to not last long since one’s expressions on the internet only illustrate a fraction of that individual characteristics, resulting in lack of understanding, which is crucial for a meaningful bond. Hence, though online friendships are convenient, fast and easy to make, they have the tendency of lacking the true meaning of friendship. To further assert my opinion, it is necessary to mention that face to face interactions are of great benefit to relationships, or in this case, friendships. In particular, getting to see how one behaves or acts in a practical scene can show his/her true personality, without the barrier of the computer or phone screen. For example, physical interactions, which are only doable in a face to face meeting, such as high fives, hugs and handshakes can show a clear sign of hospitality. What’s more, the way he/she talks and expresses emotions can give a sense of their attitude toward the relationship. Therefore, only in a direct face to face situation can friendships be amended. In conclusion, due to the lack of knowledge of each other in an online relationship and the merits that physical interactions bring to one, I strongly contend that friendships made via meeting face to face brings more meaning than those made online.