More and more people are buying fashionable clothes these days. Does it have more negative or positive effects? Give reasons for your answers and include examples relevant to your experience.

Fashion is another way of expressing oneself. It is creativity and an artistic pursuit. Some people believe that people are spending a lot on fashionable clothes, whereas others do not see this. This essay will discuss both views. On the one hand, spending a lot on fashionable clothes is extremely wasteful. With the advancement of social media and technology, trends change every week and so those who desire to fit in tend to purchase more trendy pieces. For example, shops like Primark and Shein are notorious for revamping their collection regularly. In the past, brands would release pieces twice a year - once for the Spring/Summer season and once for Autumn/Winter. This system has been completely uprooted by these fast fashion stores, making it a dilemma. Without these stores, there would be less wastage, as most of these pieces end up in landfill sites. On the other hand, buying fashionable items does not need to be so negative. Buying timeless regalia means that they are staples in one's closet and they can be used for various trends. Learning skills such as sewing also means these clothes can be upcycled and re-worn for another style. For instance, a small-town girl in India rose to fame for creating fashionable pieces from scratch. Nancy Tyagi made headlines as she was invited to Canne to attend the film festival as she was recognised for her craft. She would make trending outfits after buying material from the store and then reuse or recycle the material once another trend came about. These skills can also be transferred to store-bought attires. If she chose not to do this, she would not be expressing herself creatively. In conclusion, there is something to be said about purchasing items for fashion as it allows for an artistic output, provided that it is not wasteful. I believe there are people who purchase more and more clothes these days, however, there are also people who are mindful of the environment and do not contribute to this extensively.