Instead of training a few athletes to win medals at the Olympics, governments should spend the money on programmes encouraging the public to be active and stay healthy. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many people believe that the government should invest more money in sport opportunities for average inhabitants, rather than training only a few individuals for the Olympics. In my opinion, it is crucial to help the society stay healthy, and develop in physical movement. It is commonly known that people who are regularly exercising are more efficient at work. Physical movement has a great influence on our memory, as well as resilience. Workers who would be encouraged to stay healthy would, for example, achieve more goals at work and that could be beneficial for the government. Furthermore, teaching people about sports and healthy diets will help the environment. In present times, many of us use cars to transport everyday and eat a lot of junk food. Spreading awareness about climate change could encourage a plethora of individuals, for instance, to ride a bike to school or work, or eat less fast food. Thanks to that, politicians can be portrayed as activists who are trying to save the Earth. Moreover, making young ones aware of the importance of physical movement and a well balanced diet, can create a strong and intelligent generation in the future. It is known that eating healthy ingredients has a positive outcome on our bodies and brains. Also, teaching about our ecosystem and the necessity of doing sports can help raise an aware generation who, for example, will be more responsible about taking care of their future children. To sum up everything that has been said, the government should focus on the whole society and help it to become more concerned about their health issues. It is important to be aware of climate changes, as well as the advantages of a well balanced diet and physical movement.