Improvement in health, education and trade are essential for the development of poorer nations. However, the governments of richer nations should take more responsibility for helping the poorer nation in such area. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The living conditions of the poorer people of third-world countries are considerably worse than the conventionally acceptable standards. Some people believe that the onus falls on the governments of richer countries and I agree because there is a huge disparity in fiscal capabilities and it would help reduce migrant waves. Firstly, it is evident that in today's political landscape western countries with higher GDPs have the capacity to spend a lot more than their eastern counterparts. If we were to ever achieve a world that provides everyone with equal opportunity regardless of race or religion, it would only be possible if we work towards equality. Countries like Ireland and United Kingdom have led several initiatives aimed at improvement of healthcare in places like Bangladesh and Pakistan and there has been a significant increase in life quality and literacy rates. Recent times have witnessed a sharp increase in the number of migrants and asylum seekers who immigrate for financial purposes. As cumbersome as the process is for the individuals themselves, it also causes immense strain on the government and citizens. For instance, the increasing number of Ghanaian refugees in Germany has led to a general state of displeasure amongst the masses as it has has a massive impact on the housing market as well as public welfare sectors. A lot of these fluctuations could be avoided if there were more investments and opportunities for them back in their home countries. Finally, it is clear that if richer nations were to help poorer ones build proper infrastructure and facilities, it would lead to a downfall in the number of migrants and create a better tomorrow for future generations.