Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Widespread opinions that school is not required anymore since Internet is accessible for the acquisition of vast information is in controversy. Of course, it is a fact that, using the internet, people can obtain much more information than before, however, the role of schools is great more than only in delivering information. I can barely support this statement for the following reasons. First, schools offer organized learning arena that is so critical especially to the young learners. Such structure has benefits to the child as they are able to learn discipline, understand time management and inabilities to take responsibilities. While, information is easier to obtain through books and thus can be managed by the chid without the need for immediate supervision the internet can easily contain information in its broad reach and a child may find it hard to sift through the available information. As educators, they are responsible for the selection and the organization of material as well as the choice of media and presentation format that are suitable for the classroom and the child /children’s developmental stage. Secondly, schools are essential structures in the society as they are central to the social interactive process. They allow the children to be able to play with other children, enhance their social skills, and friendship. These interactions are profound in as much as they foster empathy, teamwork and communication which are aspects that are quite difficult to be inculcated through online lessons. The key that makes a student different from being an isolated tutorial or online learner is the class project, group work, and interpersonal relations. Also, schools give formal education that involves physical education, arts, and other co-curricular activities. Such aspects of schooling entail the nurturing of the total child through provision of a rich environment that promote freedom of expression, healthy bodies, and sound mind. Much as the internet may perhaps be saw as a rich resource to obtain all information, it does not has the reserve to fully and adequately provide for such an educational experience as this. In conclusion, although the World Wide Web is one of the available sources of information, schools are irreplaceable when it comes to supporting education, developing children’s personalities and socializing them. The multiple responsibilities that schools play in the development of children cannot be taken over by the internet only.