As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is often suggested that with the ever-rising use of the internet to broadcast news, newspapers will eventually become outdated. This essay will agree with this statement because of how convenient it is to use online sources as well as the variations available to the public. First of all, the advancements in technology have made the news easily accessible to the public. Provided that their devices are connected to the internet they are capable of accessing news websites to read at any time and anywhere. For example, with a click of a button, they are able to get breaking news about political conflicts in a country or recent vaccinations released for a serious pandemic. Consequently, they stay up-to-date with information efficiently without the need to wait to get a newspaper with reports of the previous day. Another point to note is that the internet has a wider variety of options and opinions. This means that reporters from varying stations reflect on a specific topic from different points of view. For instance, websites can display the right-wing stance and the left-wing agenda with each having their own perspective on a specific topic. As a result, this paves the way to freedom of expression as compared to newspapers which may be sometimes biased. In conclusion, in my opinion, it is clear that the use of online platforms to access the news is readily available to the public as well as it provides a wide range of information from different views. It is evident that because of these factors, the traditional way of reading from papers might become outdated.