In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In many countries, children are being told that it is important to become a hardworking person in everyday lives. Although it can make them overthink and no longer enjoying their life as a kid, such an advice from the elders can make their life better in their future years, especially for those who maintain such a personality once they grow up as a professional. On the one hand, children who are being told too much that an achievement is a result of hardwork can lead to become an overthinking person. In fact, this type of person is likely to put too much efforts, which might make them physically and mentally ill. To illustrate, a student prepares for their exams until midnight simply because they believe that if they do not study for hours, they will not pass the test. This condition can impact their health condition as well. Furthermore, such a phenomenon makes children not enjoying their life as they should be. For example, they neglect their friends' invitation to play outside, hence, resulting in an anti-social behaviour. However, there are several benefits, by being taught in that way that society preserves, for the children themselves. First and foremost, they are likely to become someone who used to maximize their effort in order to achieve their targeted results. Those with such personality traits will enjoy the process and always strive to deliver their best performances. For example, a high school basketball player is determined to do the practice regularly to win a championship. This type of attitude is a crucial thing to have as a key to success in their future lives. If they are able to maintain their level of determination in their professional life, such as keeping up to achieve their company's goals, there is a big chance for a career stability in the near future. In conclusion, there are several drawbacks that might happen to a child if they received too much advices on hardwork, as they could become an overthinking person and no longer enjoying their childhood. On the other hand, the benefits could also make their life better, especially in their professional lives.