Over-reliance on modern technology means that people are failing to learn, or are forgetting many basic skills. To what extent is this true? Are people becoming so reliant on modern technology that they are no longer able to do some things without it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays with the abundance of different inventions, we can notice a very clear fad, that a lot of young people rely too much on their smartphones, computers and tablets; to the extent, that they often over-depend on contemporary devices. Consequently, this observation raises a very important question: "Are we, as humans, becoming so addicted to technologies that we start forgetting some basic skills?" In this essay, we will try to answer this question. Speaking historically a lot of inventions made our existence both simpler and more difficult at the same time. In particular, with the invention of farming and town-building our ancestors were able not only to preserve more food but also focus on different aspects of their lives, not only defending from predators. As a result, it impacted our survival and self-preservation skills as there is no potential threat from the wild animals in cities. Furthermore, the invention of cars helped us to get to the desired destination faster, but simultaneously we forgot how to ride a horse. Most definitely, relying too much on anything can shut down some of our instincts and needs and have a detrimental effect on us. As an example, most adolescent people can't read the time on a hand watch, they struggle with basic math equations as they rely too much on calculators, they are bad at orienteering and can't read the physical maps because they constantly use Google Maps. However, is it really a downside or just a natural progression of humanity? Did the lack of horse-riding skills severely impact our lives? To my mind, the answer is - no. Overall, technology and evolution make our existence simpler, and it is just a natural progression of our species. In conclusion, I can agree that new inventions will have an effect on our basic instincts and abilities, but in the long run, they will not affect our lives negatively. Nevertheless, we should always keep an eye on the development of modern technologies so we don't allow them to transform us into weak and powerless creatures.