The world has many towns and cities constructed in previous centuries that were more suitable and livable for people in those times than they are now. What problems will this cause? What can be done to solve these problems?

Nowadays, it is clear that the old habitations are unsuitable for the existing living conditions. Although, it might have been people’s choices in the past. There are several causes of this issue as well as the potential initiatives which can be introduced to solutions. To commence, the primary reason is the lack of transportation problem for citizens. In the past, accessibility to various facilities such as hospitals, convenient stores, might have been unnecessary to think about, solely needing a habitat without consideration regarding the location. However, due to urbanization throughout many years, there has been a proliferation of several constructions, including tall buildings and large roads. This potentially leaves numerous small towns separately with a little road far away from the urban, causing many residents to have difficulty in reaching facilities. Another factor is climate change, there might be a significant change in the design of the former city. In other words, citizens in some areas designed their houses to prevent damage from various disasters in the past, but it has rarely happened in recent years due to a change in seasons. A good example for this is a former rural area in Thailand, where the first floor of every house starting approximately 3 metres above from the ground since there had been flooding problem every year. Nevertheless, flooding is rarely found in today’s world, leading to a useless of old-fashioned design. To solve these problems, firstly, an enhancement of public transportation is required to cover almost all of the areas in a city, offering a more convenient in commuting for people even they live in a suburban area. For instance, Japan’s government provide public buses or trains which can access to various areas, important locations like hospitals in particular, to allow every people to access the facility easily. Then, the way forward must be modernization and renovation of old cities. This issue might be done by each individual themselves or supported by government to offer a more suitable hometown for the environment nowadays. In conclusion, it is undoubtedly the root causes of unsuitable hometowns in today’s world are mainly from the climate change and unavailability of public transportation, which highly impact to former citizens. I believe that the possible solution to tackle these issues can start from an increase of public buses and tubes provided by the government and home renovation to suit current weather conditions.