Children have more and more tests and exams to do at school, sometime starting until the age of five or six, right up until the age of eighteen. What are the advantages and disadvantages of making childern do exams?

It is certainly true that children are receiving a greater amount of tests and exams at school at a young age, right up until they are teens. There are certain pros and cons relating to this topic, which I will be discussing below. Firstly, giving exams at a young stage in life is very helpful in understanding the basic concepts of the knowledge they are learning at school. As a result, they get more confident, familiar and smart with these topics. Moreover, attending exams and being under constant surveillance by their teachers also make them more comfortable with the topics they learn at an early stage in life, which later become more complex as they get older. Secondly, tests help teachers and the student's parents identify what subject is the child weak in. Consequently, the professors and teachers focus more on the student and make him understand and learn the subject deeply. Unfortunately, there are many disadvantages to giving so many exams and tests. The main factor they have to deal with is pressure. Compared to the past, there has been a significant increase in the number of exams given at school. When a child is not getting the expected marks on his test, he becomes the centre of attention as he would be made an outcast at school and will be extremely pressurized by his parents and teachers to score better. Furthermore, they get depressed and make the wrong decisions. Moreover, at a later stage in their school life, preferably the high school, students feel the most amount of stress as the subjects are way tougher and difficult to interpret. As a result, this affects their health too. In conclusion, exams for children can measure knowledge and motivate learning but also cause stress and encourage unnecessary memorization. Balancing these aspects is essential to support both academic achievement and the overall well-being of students.