Some people believe that children are given too much free time. They feel that this time should be used to do more school work. How do you think children should spend their free time? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The pace of living has been getting faster every year, driven by the competitiveness of nowaday’s society. This has also been reflected on children’s education, as there have been calls for increasing the time expent on educational activities. Having the kids focus only on their educational curriculum may bring some positive as well as negative points. On one hand, extending the hours the young students allocated to improve their knowledge in school subjects may help them gain some basic general knowledge and achieve the marks they need for their future chosen careers. Consecuently, their discipline with their studies and hard work would prepare them for adult life, as diligence is a highly appreciated skill. For example, an office worker with the ability to concentrate and deliver a task on time is more likely to keep their job during a redundancy period than one with difficulties to finish their work without external aids. On the other hand, allowing the youngsters to have some spare time can lead to them developing a complex set of social and interpersonal skills that may open some doors for them in the future, or even aid them find the career path that fulfills them. Finding drive in tasks of every day life can turn the future leaders of the country into passionate professionals that outperform and innovate in their fields. For example, a doctor that enjoys their practice is more likely to treat their patients with care than one that studied the bachelor because of their parents. Personally speaking, I consider that finding a balance between education and personal time is very important. Parents and teachers tend to forget that the real world is not exclusively related to school subjects, and there are some abilities that must be learnt outside of school. Apart from that, it has been noticed in recent years that it should be mandatory to allow for periods of relaxation in order to maintain a good mental health. To sum up, discipline and a good knowledge base are important for any adult, however, there are some social skills that are learnt outside of the educational and are key to navigate through life.