With the improvements in today’s health care, society has to care for more and more elderly people. Do you feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in numbers of elderly people today and how can it be managed?

While it is widely claimed that the advancements in health care nowadays enhance human lifespan which results in changes of demographics especially elderly people, others argue that this trend can be somewhat worrying as society gains more responsibility to look after these fragile group. Both opinions and how they can be managed will be elaborated on in this essay. To begin with, it seems sensible for some to believe that society might be unable to deal with an abrupt ageing society, especially in terms of finance. This is possibly because as ageing group surge dramatically means that the potential working force in industries that support the econommy of a nation is fewer as well as it requires greater responsibility to look after unemployed members. Take Japan, for example; Japan already underwent an aging society leaving only 50% of young workers in the labour force. A recent reports collated from working-class stated that they have to work extra shift in order to make a living both for themselves and the elderly. However, I personally argue in favour of the potential management of this seeing that this can be resolved with the support from the government in both financial and legal aspects. To simply explain, a monetary support from the government can tremendously reduce family expenses for taking care the elderly. Another is regulation of late retirement in order to gain more working force along with promoting self-esteem for them. To exemplify, some countries in Europe extended the age of retirement as the number of aged citizens outnumber the birth rate. As a consequence, it benefits not only the family to earn more money but also creates value for the elderly as well. In summary, although it is undeniable that ageing society could be a worrying status in the society, I am of the opinion that great support from the government either financially or legally will alleviate the burden for society.