Children these days spend a lot of time apart from their parents because in many homes, both parents work. What problems can be caused by this? What are some ways to support such children?

With the wide prevalence of both parents’ working, it has become common that young children spend lots of time alone at home. However, the lack of time of direct connection with parents impact children’s overall growth in negative ways. To comprehensively address this problem, parents should utilize their week-end more effectively by engaging in family time with their children. Nowadays, young individuals frequently feel a sense of loneliness and solitude as they do not have anyone who welcome them after school. Parents, as the first educators, play a crucial role in children’s overall growth; They can teach various fundamental skills such as cooperation, collaboration, and responsibility, provoding emotional and moral support that profoundly impact children’s personal growth. However, children cannot acquire those fundamental skills due to the absence of the guidances in the majority of their life. According to a survey conducted by Korean educational institution, children, whose both parents work, lack the sense of empathy and communication skills, compared those spending most of their time with parents. This result definitly shows the significance of the presence of parents for children. To solve this problem, parents need to have more opportunity to engage with their children. They can make the most of their week-end by going outside, visiting museums, and exploring their neighborhood together. This time allow children to stay connected with parents and feel reassurance. According to the same research, it was revealed that having time regularly and consistantly together mitigates children’s solitude and boosts connection between parents and children. To sum up, while the lack of sufficient time with parents could negatively influence children’s soft skills such as cooperation and sympathy, it is possible to alleviate the issue by engaging in family time frequently.