The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern life. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

While life is turning kind of speedy these days and time passes briskly, ready-to-eat meals have shown as a magical solution for workers and others who don' t have time to cook their food. However, others think that this trend has some bad consequences. This essay will refer to some studies to highlight the advantages and disadvantages of packaged ready foods. On the one hand, this type of food saves time and effort for many, as most workers start their jobs from the early morning until sunset, and others have double jobs on the same day; thus, feeding is a priority for them, and packaged ready foods have become a saviour for them. In addition, a statistical study published at Harvard University in 2022 illustrated that 80% of employees who eat ready-to-eat meals at work have more work efficiency than those who don' t eat until they return home because they don' t have time to cook. On the other hand, convenience foods may have less nutritional value than fresh-cooked meals. The process of making these types of food can affect the composition of these ingredients, as well as adding some preservatives which can cause long-term effects on human health. In that case, using such kinds of food may be just a process of feeding and satisfying hunger rather than benefiting from nutrients. Furthermore, advanced types of ready meals with higher nutritional values will be at higher prices, which may cause financial obstacles for workers, and they might not buy them because of their high cost. Additionally, a study published at Heuston University demonstrated that people who depend on packaged-ready foods are at higher risk for developing obesity and GI diseases such as colon problems than those who cook their own meals. To conclude, ready-to-eat meals may be a precious saviour for employees and those who don' t have time, but they can also be dangerous for long-term use. Cooking from time to time with the use of those types of food would be recommended to make a balance between both health and time -effort efficiency.