In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today’s society, using online materials has been increasingly popular as people think it is much more convenient. Some people argue that no one will buy printed newspapers or books because they could read everything online without paying. From my perspective, I disagree with this statement. Firstly, some individuals may have a habit of consuming newspapers in their daily lives. For example, the elderly usually are used to buying printed newspapers. As they are not good at using technological devices, such as mobile phones or ipads, they tend not to read newspapers online on the internet. Moreover, they may like to hold onto the papers while reading it as the texture of the papers give them a sense of newspapers, like the roughness. Hence, they will continue reading printed newspapers and articles and are less likely to read them online. Furthermore, some people may have bad eyesight problems when looking at their devices for too long. For instance, as reading requires a lot of energy of our eyes, looking at their phones for a long amount of time may lead to serious illnesses in their eyes. It usually takes about one hour for them to read newspapers and looking at the monitors is detrimental for our eyes. Therefore, in order to avoid these issues on their eyes, they are more likely to remain unchanged by buying printed newspapers, instead of reading them online. In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages of reading newspapers and articles online, but it may not be suitable for all people as some of them may be used to consuming newspapers and may want to avoid having bad eyesight problems. Thus, i personally believe that they would not be changing from buying printed newspapers to reading them online.