Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first sentence. Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem

After the first imprisonment, a significant number of offenders shows a tendency to recidivism and this urgent issue has sparked heated debates throughout the ruling class. In these forthcoming paragraphs, I will discuss some of the main reasons and solutions to solve this problem promptly. Moral rectification, in which various jails around the world are lacking, is the vital key to changing one’s mindset. Most criminals are proven mentally unstable or psychologically deformed, this leads to deviant behaviours and unfortunate events without them acknowledging their crime. A prime example of this is the high rise of former convicts in the United States, who already had multiple criminal records, committing another theft or murder and feeling neither empathy nor regret. This illustrates how harsh prisons have been treating ex- offenders with physical punishments and no moral rectification in sight. One feasible solution to this rising issue is implementing more moral lessons in order to reduce crimes committed after serving the first sentence. Convicts can attend moral classes, and participate in different charitable work to raise funds for the victim’s family; therefore, change their mindset about harming people and fully feel sorry for their crime. Another noble example of this measure is the prison cat program in Indiana where offenders can receive a cat and buy necessities for them if they accomplish enough missions. By that means, prisoners might restore their belief in humanity; and by caring for small beings, they will acknowledge the fact that we as humans, also have our very own precious lives which need to be cherished and appreciated. In conclusion, moral rectification is a crucial factor in restoring humanity in offenders during their time serving in prison. This solution should be activated as soon as offenders get sentenced to prevent further crimes committed.