Mental health concerns are a growing issue for many people around the world. What are some reasons for poor mental health, and what can governments do to support citizens' mental health?

The world is now witnessing a mental health epidemic as there are growing concerns related to the number of people experiencing mental health complications. Reasons for this increase include but are not limited to intensive economic competition, sleep deprivation, and social media usage. As for solutions, I believe governments should focus on enhancing the country's economic position and introduce other necessary policies, such as banning social media in certain establishments. The world is now home to over eight billion people, but there seem to be insufficient resources and opportunities for all. People in different parts of the world struggle financially and live most of their lives in pursuit of financial freedom. Only a certain proportion of people eventually secure a comfortable position within society, but the more significant percentage of people seem to never find peace when it comes to financial matters. Chasing money can be an exhausting assignment, making one's life stressful and thus resulting in certain mental health issues, ranging from anxiety to severe alcoholism and clinical depression. As we live in a highly chaotic world where noise pollution and economic pressures rise continuously, our sleep patterns are also affected. Numerous studies have lately been investigating the lack of sleep that has become a norm for millions of people worldwide. Science claims that the less people sleep, the more likely they are to gain extra weight, develop cardiovascular diseases, and become anxious. The worst part is that the effect of sleep deprivation is not always felt instantly but can be a source of numerous health issues in the long-term, often making it an issue that is not taken seriously for a considerable amount of time. One more source of mental health dangers is the emergence of social media and its transformation into a daily tool so actively used among the majority of people. Altough there are some positive features of different social networking platforms, they often affect people's mental health negatively. The reason for that is the unprecedented amount of lies and exagerration exaggerations in social media accounts of many content creators and celebrities. A regular person who lives paycheck to paycheck may feel insecure watching some social media users living a luxurious life that does not seem to have any worldly issues. What makes this aspect even worse is that people tend to make irrelevant comparisons where they compare themselves to someone significantly younger but more successful. Speaking realistically, a certain percentage of people will inevitably suffer from mental health issues, but many more can be saved from them. Governments can reconsider how they allocate resources within the country to make sure there is less economic disparity. Making sure there is less unemployment can help as well due to people's dependence on a source of income in this highly materialistic world we live in. The less obvious solution that I consider rational enough is the ban of Internet use, including social media, in particular public places. Schools, parks and libraries can be those venues where people should be encouraged to communicate, exercise and read rather than obsessively watch thousands of short videos that provide instant gratification and nothing else. This can also decrease the amount of radiation people are exposed to, further indicating the health benefits of potential prohibitions. In conclusion, mental health crisis is a complex issue that can be explained in different ways. Providing people with more economic opportunities and depriving them of some screen time can be useful.