Some people think that the media should be for entertainment only, while others believe that media should have educational values. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In today’s society, the media is favoured by many people. One can assert that it is a way for entertainment, while one can argue that it should be used for education. Personally, I agree to a certain extent that media should have educational aspects, however, media is also a powerful tool used to entertain us. To begin with, media serves as an important way to entertain people as they are able to play games through media which consider as fun in their perspective. For instance, there are various video game platforms such as clash royale and candy crush saga which are popular games played by people at any age. The majority of people play games when they are bored which is a way to find happiness when playing games. However, one can argue that the media should be used to educate as there are educational news such as anti–bullying news which educate them to treat their peers with respect. Therefore, although we can argue that media leads to a gain in knowledge, one can advocate that it is a way to find joy. Furthermore, one can assert that media should be for entertainment only because they can interact with people. For example, social media are used to bond people together where they can meet new friends and chat with them which entertain themselves and others. On the other hand, one can refute the idea that media should also be used for education as there might be problem solving TV shows which allow them to develop understandings towards maths subjects in school. As a result, educational elements are vital on media. Nevertheless, one can dismiss that media should also be a way to educate, one can agree that media should only be for entertainment. In conclusion, it is essential to have both educational values and entertainment. But I believe that educating people through media is more important as the benefits outweighs the drawbacks.