Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both opinion and give your own opinion.

A group of individuals present a view that competitiveness has benefits in one ’s life, whereas others believe that collaboration with others is more beneficial. I strongly agree with the latter opinion. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that collaboration with others at work, at school or in daily life gives people an opportunity to learn more. Humans are inherently social species and we need each other in various aspects of life. As we cooperate more with each other we can learn more things that help us to have a better life and be more successful. Furthermore, competition can take a lot of time as one wants to do everything in his own way, indeed collaborating can help us to manage our time more properly which results in extra time for other activities too. On the other hand, another group of people claim that competing can bring more success and more achievement in life. They insist that being in competition makes one work harder and working hard can bring more success. They cite entrepreneurs and companies such as Elon Musk and SpaceX who have dedicated their lives to compete fiercely in the business market and become the top one. However, I do not find the argument convincing as life is not solely about competition and monumental financial success. Mental health and a fulfilling life stem from stress-free environments and ample time for family and leisure which can be achieved through collaboration. To conclude, in my view, collaboration has numerous benefits for a person as you can learn many things from others and have sufficient time for your family and leisure. Moreover, stressful competitive environments can harm our mental health.