Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

We live in a world with growing contrast between countries in terms of wealth and acces to welfare. Hence, the treatment of severe illness is polarising depending of the region you live in. If you are lucky to have a good health system, the probability of dying from or even suffering certain diseases are minimun. By contrast, living in an undeveloped nation does not allow you to have the required treatments, is this fair for them? It is clear that advances and new discoveries in medicine and the farmaceutical industry come at a high cost. Therefore for the system to continue to work and progress, it is necessary to have a considerable amount of benefits, as a lot of people depend on this to make their living. However, do the benefits have to apply equally among all kind of diseases?. Most people would agree that medicines for benign conditions, such as acne, might be charged with less implications than other severe diseases. In my own personal experience as an orthopedic surgeon, we can see how implants are minimally redesigned to justify the high costs the companies charge and the older ones are discontinued. I believe that, as a gesture of solidarity, they could keep on the production of the older models although companies would have lower benefits. To conclude, I firmly believe that there could be much more fairness and equaility in the distribution of healthcare around the world. After all, we do not choose where we are born and it is sad that some people have to die just because of mere luck.