Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry. Do you think the advantages of free admission outweigh the disadvantages?

In present days, people can visit some galleries and museums free of charge, whilst there are some places which charge an entrance fee. I believe the merits of this surpass the drawbacks. It is inevitable that offering free admission to museums and art galleries is beneficial in terms of gaining public popularity and fostering interests among the younger generation. First and foremost, to compete with other recreational options including movie theatres, owners of museums and galleries could resort to promoting free entrance to appeal to the community, promoting the habits of going to such places for entertaining purposes. Furthermore, by endorsing free entrance, the museums and galleries can be more accessible for the children, hence it will nurture curiosity and appreciation for history, science and nature from a very young age. As a result, they will grow up into adults with creative mindsets and thirst for knowledge. Many people may argue that not selling tickets will affect such places financially, which leads to the degradation of exhibitions, and lowers the quality of items and concepts available on display. Primarily, art centres and museums need monetary means to operate and provide income for employees. If they did not receive funds via ticket sales, it would be challenging to maintain the activities as well as care for the artifacts. As well as this, without a stable financial source, those places could not afford to increase their collections, and open new exhibitions. Consequently, they would lose the support of the public as they do not offer novel materials to view. In conclusion, although the disadvantage of lacking the revenue from ticket sales may seem prominent, I believe the advantages are far more crucial, as it will promote public recognition and cultivating intrigues in arts and knowledge for the juveniles. Therefore, governments should provide financial supports for museums and galleries to maintain their availability to the population without any fee.