Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

There have been observations that a growing number of animal species are becoming extinct, and some others are also showing similar signs. Several factors contributing to this negative trend, especially in the fishing industry, include the use of illegal fishing equipment, and overfishing, and this essay discusses ways to prevent this negative phenomenon from happening. One of the reasons many animal species are extinct or near-extinct is due to the inappropriate use of fishing equipment. The development of new technology has aided fishermen in harvesting a great volume of fish from the oceans or rivers. For instance, the electrical fishing nets allow the fishermen to get hundreds or even thousands of kilograms of fish in each catch. Regardless of their size, the fish are transported to the market for sale. When this kind of practice continued, sooner or later, there would be fewer fish available for the next catches. Furthermore, there are specific seasons for fish harvesting. However, in reality, many cases have been reported in relation to overfishing, especially during the reproduction seasons. Without proper regulations, many fishermen continue to carry out these activities in order to sustain their family income. With that being said, there are many mechanisms that can be adopted to mitigate such a risk of extinction, one of which is played by the government. They have the authority to control where and how the fishing takes place. I believe, with systematic regulation and control, we can save the fish species from being extinct. Fish farming can also be an alternative to wild fish catching. With effective practice, I think, the quality of fish raised on the farm can be as nutritious as those that are caught in the wild. All in all, there are many reasons that contribute to the extinction of fish, two of which are the inappropriate use of fishing materials, and overfishing. To prevent this from happening, the government should establish numerous strategies, such as a system to track and identify illegal fishing equipment and promote fish farming as a replacement for traditional fishing practices.