Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, many celebrities gain fame for their excessive wealth and lavish lifestyles rather than their work, setting a negative example for young people. In my perspective, there are indeed a plethora of such cases nowadays but this can be untrue for many others. On the one hand, there are many people who are well-known for non-talent-related reasons. In fact, they may achieve fame and wealth from their families, and partners, or from being scandalous. This causes a negative impact on their fans or followers by setting up a dogma that if they desire to live their dreams, they should focus on appearances and wealth instead of core values such as talents or academic results. For example, young girls and boys often idolize famous models and actresses who flaunt their designer clothes, expensive jewellery, and luxurious vacations on social media. As a result, they tend to pay more attention to their clothes rather than studying, which possibly damages their careers. On the other hand, there are celebrities who are popular for their unique talents or outstanding performances as well. Consequently, they show their audience that they have reached success due to strong determination and hard work, and the public should always recognise them for their mastery of arts and great achievements. For instance, athletes who have trained rigorously for years and have won medals and trophies deserve to enjoy the fruits of their labour. Therefore, they can be ideal role models for young people in society to follow their dreams. In conclusion, besides unworthy celebrities that can have a bad influence on young people, there are also famous people for their competence that can inspire young generations.