Some parents believe that learning mathematics at school is reductant and should not be taught while others believe that it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used later in life. Discuss both sides.

Whether or not to teach mathematics at school is becoming increasingly controversial. Although some parents think that learning maths is unnecessary, other parents believe it should be taught as it is an important subject. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in depth. On the one hand, there are many parents who believe that maths should be removed from a school subject because it has become less important. They have a reason to believe that mathematics is no longer needed as a human skill as it is now typically done by computers. For example, from simple addition and subtraction to complex mathematical equations are now computer operations. Therefore, these parents believe that maths is no longer a relevant subject in schools. In contrast to parents who wish to remove mathematics as a school subject are those who believe that it is a fundamental part of learning despite its usefulness. After all, mathematics provides people with different conceptual way to view the world. For example, knowing how to add, subtract and divide, albeit calculations that can be done on a phone, are essential daily skills. For these reasons, there are number of parents who believe that mathematics should remain. Should mathematics be removed from a school's syllabus? A number of parents think that mathematics is outdated and therefore reductant. Other parents disagree and think that maths is still relevant and important. This essay discussed the various reasons why parents hold these points of view and whether mathematics should remain a part of students' school studies.