In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary world, it is a fact that imported products have become demonstrably more prevalent in supermarkets, extending buyers’ options from all over the world. In my opinion, this trend offers a number of significant benefits, which I will explain in detail in the succeeding paragraphs. First and foremost, expanding the food assortment to foreign products potentially leads to better health for citizens living in those areas. When there are more available products for consumers, they have more choices to diversify their dishes. This improvement translates to a better flavor to trigger all family members to have a better taste. Moreover, a variety of foods also provide more nutritious meals, improving their balanced diet, especially with some countries that do not have suitable natural conditions to supply sufficient food for themselves. For instance, in the past, in some frozen areas in Canada, they only could sustain themselves based on dry food or some kind of fish they could catch in that season, leading to the lack of several kinds of essential vitamins and increasing the risk of facing weaker immune systems. Now, with the ease of importing food from other countries, they can now more easily fulfill a sufficient diet throughout the year with foreign supplement food which are not able to be produced in their national land. Apparently, prevalent foreign food products in the supermarket shelves shows the benefits to the overall human health over the world. Moreover, the rise in selling and buying imported foods is a positive factor propelling the economy for export countries or companies. Increasing demand from international markets helps them expand their potential consumer base, which will result in the growth in their sales revenue and even in profit. This may be followed by a higher job vacancy in this industry and decrease the unemployment rate. Furthermore, if a rise in exports is enough to keep the positive trade balance, it can boost that country’s GDP. Eventually, this is a good chance for many nations to push their economy to grow faster and at the same time enhance their social issues relating to employment. In conclusion, the trend in which more and more people can buy food products over the world from their close supermarket shelves is undeniably beneficial to not only the citizen living in that area in term of standard of living and health, but also to the export countries, when they have a better chance to improve their GDP and employment rate.