In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

The question of whether an elderly population has an optimistic impact on society is worthy of debate. Some people argue that the senior generation benefits society. However, the advantages of having an ageing population do not always outstrip the disadvantages. Granted, it is difficult to disregard the acumen and the experiences of elderly people. To illustrate, Japan is the epitome of longevity. After the rapid and remarkable industrialization, the people during that time climbed the ladder of success in investment and business. As a result, they collected their own property and were able to relish the rest of life with abundant profits. Therefore, the government should not have to put extraordinary efforts to bolster the elderly population. Meanwhile, the social reputation of the ageing people is remembered as a respectful generation and many of the young people admire them. However, an increasing proportion of the old generation hinders the government from the economic development of the country. Considering that the allocation of funds by the nation is strictly limited, the budgets must be utilized equally for the public. For instance, most elderly people cannot work for a living which means that the government should buttress them with a significant number of subsidies. Also, if the authorities allocated most of their budgets to resolve the financial hitches of the elderly, the other parts, like culture and education would be overshadowed. To recapitulate, I concede that the assets from the ageing population might exist. Nonetheless, the negative effects will surpass the benefits. Furthermore, rational financial management is pivotal for authorities to succeed in this ever-changing society.