The restoration of old buildings in major cities throughout the world involves enormous expenditure. This money would bring more benefits if it was used to provide new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

The allocation of budget to restoring old buildings in big cities in the world results in the use of a huge amount of money. However, using the money to build new housing and develop a road system would be more valuable. I totally agree with the statement owing to the positive impacts that individuals could get. Since the massive increase in population requires proper housing management and road development, investing in public necessities may have various impacts. Firstly, a high-density population leads to the increasing need for houses to live in order to reduce unsheltered citizens. Secondly, a congested road also requires the development of a road to avoid traffic problems. For instance, most of part of the world is facing a pressing problem reflecting on the number of homeless and congestion in the road. Therefore, The key players in such a problem are authorities who could create a policy to allocate more funds to new housing and road development. Furthermore, preserving the historical building may keep the existence of history, but improving the quality of life through providing a new residence area and developing the road could increase the productivity of people in each country. To illustrate, people may find it easy to find a place near their workplace which will influence their work performance. In addition, a good quality of road management can positively affect people's commuting activities. For example, good access to a particular place can encourage visitors to come and will unconsciously contribute to the economic rise of those who live in that area. In conclusion, although the investment in old sites could be valuable for the historical aspect, the most important one is paying more attention to the public needs which could have a direct impact on their quality of life.