Nowadays many students go traveling or working for a year after graduating from high school and before starting university. Are there more advantages or disadvantages to this trend?

It is undeniable that going to university is essential for everyone to build a better future. However, it has been common that, prior to continuing their study, youngsters tend to spend a year working or travelling. This is not completely straightforward and, in this essay, I will discuss its pros and cons. Regarding advantages, it should be admitted that working before studying might give young ones the opportunity to know about their passions and abilities to assist them in choosing the suitable field of study with their personalities. Furthermore, they may comprehend to focus on practical subjects instead of theoretical lessons. A telling example is recent research about people who have worked before going to college. It is shown that they were more determined to achieve their goals in studying specific majors. This could bring about noticeable progress in their future careers. Another point is the valuable experience that traveling could be for students meaning that they might learn about various cultures helping them to choose a better career and life path. Turning to its disadvantages, the prime drawback that this trend might cause is the changes that could appear in the gap between high school and university. By this, we mean that if a student start working, they might stray from their main goals and get accustomed to their current situation and give up on continuing their desires which might contribute to their regret after a couple of years. To put it in a nutshell, working and travelling prior to continuing study in university could be prolific in choosing the right major and socializing with other students. However, the changes that might happen in the middle of the study might be considered.