Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The advancements of public infrastructure hold significant importance for city layout and environmental sustainability. In my view, I strongly agree with the statement that more money should be allocated by governments for the railway system. The first reason why spending money on railways is a great decision is that it offers more public transport for urban people, especially for those living in suburban areas. Although investing in roads delivers an ease of commuting, it is merely beneficial for particular people who own a personal vehicle. For instance, by being provided with more railways, people would be more encouraged to choose trains for commuting or even traveling since it's less effort, relatively cheaper, and also punctual. In fact, railway transportation could be considered as one of the essential facilities in society, playing a vital role in human well-being. The second favor of devoting money to train systems is because it helps environments to reduce pollution from carbon emissions emitted by fuel vehicles. To illustrate, lack of public transport could lead people to use private transportation, which possibly increases carbon footprints, giving directly the detrimental effects to nature such as climate change as well as ozone depletion. Thus, opting to develop more railways gives the benefits not only for inhabitants but also for the continuation of the living world. In conclusion, spending money on railways not only helps people with the convenience of transportation but also protects the environment. Having considered the drawbacks, I remain firmly convinced that in spite of spending money on roads, governments should spend on railways.