Education is not a luxury but a basic human righ and as such should be free for everyone irrespective of personal wealth. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the importance of education and, consequently, access to free education has become a widespread topic of debate. While some may argue otherwise, I strongly believe that education is a universal human right and, therefore, should be accessible to everyone free of charge. Firstly, it is becoming more widespread these days for employers to look for at least a base level of formal education when evaluating candidates for a job role. Because of this, applicants that do not have access to this will have a major disadvantage compared to others that do. This is the case even with companies that want to fill entry-level positions. Even Walmart, for instance, which is known for only hiring unskilled workers, now requires every job candiate to present a valid elementary school diploma regardless of the role. This puts those who could not afford to attend school at a major disadvantage. Aside from professional detriment, the negative effects of not receiving education are also prevalent in one's personal life. This is because several common behaviours, like empathy and courtesy, are also developed at school. This means that people who cannot afford education are at risk of not developing these traits as much as others. For example, someone who has never been to school may have a harder time understanding the necessity of maintaining one's position in a queue. In conclusion, it is clear that not having access to formal education creates major disadvantages for people, both in professional and personal life. Hence, while some may not see free education as equally as important as other human rights, not many can deny that it is critical, if not vital, for people to be able to have the opportunities and common beliefs that we have come to rely on.