Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governement take to discourage people from using theirs cars?

In the last thirty years cars have been people's favourite way to move around, despite causing not few problems to the city traffic and global environment. Firstly, lots of vehicles in the streets cause traffic jams close by the most popular places around the city. For example, in the neighbourhood where I live in Rome, is located the biggest hospital in the entire country. As a result, all the patients come there by car, provocating congestions in the area. This issue could be solved by improving public transportation, consequently people won't rely on cars anymore. Secondly, cars precence leads to tons and tons of carbon dioxide emission. Therefore, this provokes respiratory issues in residents. According to the data, human lungs are not designed to breath all this pollution thus the most fragile part of the population, such as elderly and children, referes to have respiratory problems.  In conclusion, I believe that the increasing number of impediments cannot be denied and governements government should provide a solution. For instance, they could improve shared transport, preferring trains and electric vehicles so that the emissions are reduced. In addition, pedestrian areas could be built close by historical places. This measure could let us appreciate historical monuments without a car in sight.