Some people think that social media sites have a huge negative effect on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As people rely more and more on social media, there is a debate about whether the impact on both people and society is negative or not. I partly agree that this is a negative overall, despite its obvious conveniences. Initially, one of the fundamental arguments in terms of social networking sites is that they have made it easier for us to communicate with one another, which has brought us closer together and expanded our social networks. For instance, users can get to know people from different regions easily through social media, which enhances connections between strangers. Furthermore, social media sites have made it easier for us to access books or allow us the opportunity to learn in more ways through other educational resources. To give an example, someone interested in learning about a topic goes to the library and takes out ten books, but not everyone wants to learn in this way. Instead, all we need to do is punch in a search on Google and read a few articles or watch a few videos. According to the above, social networks indeed bring about improvements for the public and society. On the other hand, in this contemporary world, people, particularly teenagers, are prone to committing different crimes, such as blackmailing, fraud, and gambling, by using social media sites. In addition, some low-grade businesses have been preferring social media to advertise their low-quality products among their clients. For instance, because of the rise of marketing through Instagram or other social sites, it is very easy to sell third-grade goods at a high price as consumers are encouraged by colourful advertisements.   In conclusion, despite the fact that the trend is inescapable, its downsides and merits have considerably affected people's lives.