Obesity is a growing problem in developed nations. What are the reasons for the increase in numbers of very overweight people? What can be done to deal with the problem?

Nowadays, first-world countries are facing problems of obesity on their respective citizens. This essay discusses the reasons for the increase in population of overweight people and methods to solve the problem. The major cause of obesity is due unhealthy lifestyle. For instance most number of masses of the developed countries have easy accesses to variety of food, due to this easy access people tend patronize fast- food, street food and processed can-goods. Not knowing the long-term consequences of irresponsible food selection, people continues to buy palatable yet unhealthy food. In addition, people tend to be obese because there is no time for exercise. Take an example of this situation, the average working hours of an employee is eight hours a day plus commute and sleep time. The hectic work life balance hinders the person to allocate time on exercise. One possible solution to promote normal body mass index (BMI) is to have discipline on choosing appropriate food. The consumer may chose vegetables and fruits if the government will give incentives to these selections on grocery stores. On the other hand, the government may add more taxes on alcoholic drinks, sweetened beverages, ciggarettes and other processed products on the market. The result on program may push people to buy affordable and healthy foods rather than expensive processed foods. Another possible solution is to encourage employees to participate in physical activities conducted by institutions such as sports festivals and basketball tournaments. Overall, rich nations faces obesity problems because of lifestyle choices and carreer-oriented people. There are possible solutions to implemet to counteract these problems such as incentivizing raw food materials like vegetables and fruits, but taxing processed products. Also companies may help promote exercise through organizing team buildings in a way of sports activities.