Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Vehicle-free days are a common phenomenon in most modern cities as they ensure that, by using public transportation people can contribute to maintaining better air quality and traffic-free movement. Even though it hinders free transportation of private car users. Vehicles are one of the most important elements of air pollution. Private transportation is just another add to this problem, prohibiting the use of motorized cars can ensure fresh and breathable air for city dwellers. Busy cities like Dhaka always remain on the top for their poor air quality, but on 2023 when they kept the cars away from the road for three days a week they experienced 20 times better breathable atmosphere. Additionally, there was less traffic because of no private vehicles. Thus promoting vehicle-free days could ensure a better city experience rather than a hustling sweated day. On the other side people who are not used to public transportation, this campaign actually creates big trouble. Some top officers of every company find it very difficult to manage as they have to perform multiple responsibilities in the different parts of the cities. And waiting for the bus and metro station is nothing but a waste of their valuable time. On top of that in some areas, there is no transportation available which creates absolute chaos for those busy individuals. For instance, it is quite unnatural to think an MP of parliament house will travel on the metro to attend regular parliament sessions. In conclusion, even though car-free transportation might create some discomfort for the higher class society it will bring a huge blessing for middle-class citizens by enabling healthier air circulation and traffic-less city life.