Online courses have been welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, other students see these courses as a poor substitute for classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online course?

Learning through online courses has become a trend in contemporary times, particularly for the group of students. This essay will argue the benefits and drawbacks of this trend. On the one hand, utilizing websites to learn can indeed have some efficiency-related advantages. For instance, compared with earlier periods, people may not go to educational institutions to learn. In contrast, they can stay at their accommodations to study, thereby saving a considerable amount of time in commuting. At the same time, this improvement helps individuals become more efficient learners because online courses do not have any time restrictions for learning. As a result, the public cannot face some restrictions such as what time the class starts; conversely, they can pay more attention to website classes when they feel vigorous. On the other hand, absorbing knowledge from the internet course is likely to have some detriments because of excessively unnecessary information on education. A typical example is social media. Many parents have experienced that their children use electronic devices to watch social media rather than learning their subjects, such as English, mathematics, and science. This is because most children lack concentration on their subjects or have insufficient supervision by their parents. Furthermore, it is common that the appeal of social media is larger than that of the educational aspect. Accordingly, unsurprisingly, this is a negative phenomenon and decreases the efficiency of learning. To sum up, while using the internet course to learn can indeed provide some benefits such as efficiency aspect, it may become a detriment, especially for teenagers.