Some people think it does not matter if a professional sportsman or sportswoman misbehaves on or off the field if they play well. What is your opinion about this?

There is a view shared by a certain number of people that one’s good performance on a meeting with a company can help them to get hired. I tend to agree with this point, as the way a person behaves in the course of an interview reveals his or her qualities and skills to employers. In the following paragraphs, I am going to explore the given issue.   On the one hand, there is a reason why an interview is usually the last step in the recruitment process. Potential employees can write plenty of facts in CVs about hard and soft skills when, in reality, they do not possess the required ones. The only way to evaluate whether the provided information is truthful is to check it in person. Moreover, the impression made during this meeting is crucial for jobs that involve constant communication with people and heavily rely on it, as it happens in marketing and HR spheres. For instance, an acquaintance of mine who applied for a position of PR manager was dismissed after a short conversation with the company because they did not like her shy demeanor. On the other hand, it is argued that there are other, more important factors considered by the organization rather than the interview performance. One can have immaculate speaking skills and charisma that will impress the interviewer but lack practical knowledge that is needed for the specific job. Additionally, some positions do not rely on the talkativeness of an employee, and their abilities can be tested with the help of another additional recruitment step. In some Russian IT companies, such as Yandex or Kaspersky, a video questionnaire with an HR manager is only the second step, after which it is needed to complete a task that will be checked by the head of department.   In conclusion, first impressions are rather crucial when a person hopes to acquire a desired job. Such meetings can help both parties to understand whether they are interested in potential cooperation.