Modern buildings appear in large numbers, but some people believe that we should build our buildings in traditional styles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often believed that traditional buildings are more beneficial than modern buildings whose number increases greatly in modern society. I partially agree with this, for incredible health advantages that people can gain from old houses regardless of some benefits attained from new buildings for environmental preservation. On the one hand, a traditional style of housing should be encouraged as they are more likely to promote individual health due to the healing effect of ancient materials often used in old houses. In other words, residents are able to improve their health conditions as they are exposed to them on a regular basis. For instance, a Japanese floor called "tatami," which is made of straw, is known to remove stress and pain that people experience in their feet while they walk on the soft cushion. Furthermore, this natural material of traditional Japanese houses has a significant effect in reducing blood pressure in a dramatic way, preventing serious diseases such as heart attacks and brain strokes, in contrast to a modern floor made of wood, which often causes constant pain in their feet. On the other hand, modern buildings should be introduced to protect the environment as taller buildings can accommodate more people in limited spaces, reducing the need to destroy nature. Indeed, it is less likely to cut down more trees as well as drill land as they provide more places for settlers to live. This effect is especially striking in urban areas where the growing population has been a pressing concern. In spite of the rising demand to construct more housing, the new styles of buildings encourage people not only to coexist with nature but also to expand human activities, which results in the prosperity of wildlife and the growing satisfaction of people in the future. In conclusion, while I somewhat agree that more traditional buildings should prevail as their special healing effect that residents can take advantage of. However, modern buildings with the capability to accommodate more people should be recommended in cities so as not to pose a detrimental impact on nature.