Some people believe that it is good for a country’s culture to import foreign movies and TV programmes. Others think that it is better to produce these locally. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Entertainment programs such as movies, series, and many others often imported from abroad. People agree that getting movies and series from foreign country is good for cultural purposes. Hence, on the opposite, others believed that importing foreign programmes could kill local entertainment businesses. In this essay I would like to discuss both sides and present my own view. Cultural education could be in a form of entertainment, whereas many programmes imported due to this statement. With learning other culture, local people could reflect to their own. They could judge whether their norm still applicable in the eye of times, whether it is valuable or not to be kept. Moreover, by absorbing foreign creation we can alleviate our value, seeing them as competitor and subsequently develop our own. Thus would lead to country improvement for the better. On the contrary, importing foreign programmes could impact the local businesses particularly entertainment. It is not impossible that locally produced programmes can not compete to the quality that offered by overseas’ programmes. Accordingly, the local community would die down. In sequence, this phenomenon could shift trend, be it fashion, culiner, and others. External culture will become more common as per the demand of local people which continuously enjoying overseas programmes. The worst scenario from this is our people could forget their own norm and cultural practices. Despite this different view points, there has to be a role to limit the influence of foreign culture in ones country. Government should be active to encourage their citizen to continue adoring their own home culture. In parallel, the citizens also has to write down patriotism and nationalism within their heart, then they would not easily sway by the influence of other’s culture. Therefore the impact of entertainment programmes which brought out from overseas will be attainable. In conclusion, importing foreign entertainment programmes is good for cultural education. Hence if the afterward impact do not manage carefully, the downside effect would be created. Therefore, it is crucial to restrict its domination and to prioritize our nation’s and ancestor’s practices.