In some countries, some school leavers choose to work or travel for a year between finishing secondary school and attending university.

In some nations, many high school graduates choose to take a gap year before continuing to pursue tertiary education. This essay will discuss both the merits and the drawbacks of that trend, before discussing the author’s view. There are several benefits that a gap year can provide to the students. First and foremost, it fosters an open mindset, especially for those who choose to travel the world or involve in voluntary activities. In other words, students can learn to appreciate cultural uniqueness as well as empathy and sympathy, which is essential for them to grow into more holistic people. As well as this, working during gap years is associated with higher flexibility and greater creativity, which will be useful when students enter universities and later, job markets. Conversely, taking gap years also constitutes numerous demerits. Primarily, it requires a generous budget to fund the activities involved in such period, especially if travelling is included. In fact, graduates taking a year off may risk being in debt to pay for their trips, which could have detrimental effects on their financial status for university enrolment. Furthermore, deferring education for a long time could result in the loss of study momentum, and for those who start a job during their break year, they may lose the motivation to study due to the satisfaction of earning money. As a result, many may not return to school after the gap year, which could negatively affect their career prospects. In conclusion, it is inevitable that gap years can help cultivating soft skills and an open mind, however, the disadvantages are also significant, including the loss of desire for studying and financial debts. In my opinion, high school leavers should not take a year off as I believe finishing university is more important. Additionally, the gap year could be taken after finishing bachelor’s degrees, which will benefit the fresh graduates by preparing them the necessary skills for their professional development.