Q. People who go to live in other countries, should follow the customs and traditions of the new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people migrate to other countries more often than ever previously. Some people argue that those who translocate to new places should follow the value system of those nations. Even though it is so beneficial to adopt new customs and lore of a new place, one can still practice his own culture wherever he lives and the reasons are explained below. To begin with, the values and behaviours of an individual are set up by the society where he/she has been born. To change them when he/she moves to a different country is somewhat creating a cultural shock. This will result in adjustment problems and the individual may suffer in silence. For instance, many nurses who travelled to Western countries from India have returned home after they have experienced a cultural shock. Therefore, it is clear that there should not be any compulsion to follow the ritual of the new place. Furthermore, if it is forced to follow these value systems, there is every chance of a conflict in the community. Such instances have happened in the towns of Leicestershire in the UK recently, where public demonstrations were organised to allow for their own cultural practices. To avoid such things, it is better not to make them compulsorily follow the local practices and customs. Nonetheless, practising local values and behaviours gives an advantage in building a successful life in the new place. folks will be made to believe that they are identified as the locals and, in turn, increases the local support and chances of survival. To conclude, although it is beneficial to follow local culture, one can still hold on to his own belief system in which he was brought up.