In Some Countries young people are encourage to work for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies discuss advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

Many nations encourage their younger generation to work for a year in the gap between school graduation and university admission. This essay enumerates the pros and cons of this decision by the students. To begin with, many of the universities in the West advise their prospective undergraduate students to work for some time, preferably a year. This has numerous advantages and a few are worth mentioning. It helps students to develop personally and improves cohesion when working within a team. For example, medical undergraduates are advised to work for the NHS in the UK before admission to the course. Another benefit of working is financial independence. Students can pay their bills and save for future expenditures, such as books, laptops etc. On the contrary, there are some adversities with this system. The major drawback is that a student, who joins this, will lose a year than his counterpart, which may interfere with jobs after the course. The competition for employment is evidently high and this will be a significant hurdle for the student to find a livelihood after studies. In addition, when students work, these job opportunities are lost as many firms will not allocate these vacancies to the open labour market because students will cover the leave. To conclude, there are benefits and drawbacks for students working in between schooling and collegiate education. Governments can intervene to reduce the cons to make it a better option such as giving more weightage for this work when applying for a related job.